September 30, 2020

Sonia Gandhi Sends out Message to Letter Writers with Key Congress Appointments forward of Monsoon Session

In a transparent message to those that not too long ago wrote a dissent letter difficult her management, Congress president Sonia Gandhi Thursday shaped a five-member panel in Rajya Sabha together with her confidants and elevating two younger MPs to senior positions in Lok Sabha.

Ahmed Patel, KC Venugopal and Jairam Ramesh will likely be a part of the Rajya Sabha Committee, which will even embrace Chief of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad and celebration’s deputy chief Anand Sharma.

Azad and Sharma are signatories to the letter that demanded an overhaul of the Congress celebration and a brand new “full-time and visual” celebration president. They had been attacked by celebration leaders within the Congress Working Committee assembly on Monday, the place some even sought motion in opposition to them.

Ramesh has additionally been appointed the chief whip in Rajya Sabha, a put up that fell vacant after Bhubaneswar Kalita stop the celebration and joined the BJP.

Former minister and Rajya Sabha MP Kapil Sibal, who was additionally a signatory to the letter, didn’t discover a place within the technique committee. The group will take a name on the celebration’s flooring technique with sources saying the concept is to strengthen flooring administration.

Within the Lok Sabha, Gandhi elevated celebration MP from Assam Gaurav Gogoi and made him the deputy chief of Congress, whereas Ludhiana MP Ravneet Singh Bittu was made the celebration’s whip.

The 2, together with chief of the Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, chief whip Ok Suresh and one other whip Manickam Tagore would kind a five-member Committee of flooring leaders within the decrease home.

It’s a transfer by the Congress to strengthen its group of flooring leaders within the Decrease Home, celebration leaders stated, including it’s also a message to dissenters like Shashi Tharoor and Manish Tewari in Lok Sabha and Azad and Sharma within the higher home.

Bittu, a three-time MP from Punjab who has been entrusted with the duty because the Congress whip within the Lok Sabha, trumps his Punjab colleague Tewari, additionally a three-time MP.

At present, Bittu represents Ludhiana, which had earlier elected Tewari, who now could be MP from Anandpur Sahib. Bittu had received from Anandpur Sahib in 2009.

Celebration leaders stated Tewari and Tharoor had been aspiring for positions in Lok Sabha.

The opposition celebration didn’t have a deputy chief in Lok Sabha — the final was within the earlier Lok Sabha when Amarinder Singh was on the put up earlier than he turned the chief minister of Punjab.

The appointments got here forward of the Monsoon Session of Parliament, which is more likely to begin from September 14.

Gogoi hails from Assam, the place Meeting polls are due early subsequent 12 months. The MP from the Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency, he was the celebration’s whip within the Home until now and has been elevated.

Gogoi is the son of former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi.

[videos] => Array

[query] =>,5d95e6c278c2f2492e214884,5d96f74de3f5f312274ca307&classes=5d95e6d7340a9e4981b2e10a&question=Ahmed+Patelpercent2Ccongresspercent2CKC+Venugopalpercent2Cmonsoon+sessionpercent2Cparliament&publish_min=2020-08-24T22:25:18.000Z&publish_max=2020-08-27T22:25:18.000Z&sort_by=date-relevance&order_by=0&restrict=2