May 16, 2021

Campaigning Ends for the Seventh Section of Ballot

Curtains got here down on Friday over the campaigning for 34 meeting seats in West Bengal that are scheduled to go to the ballot on April 26 within the seventh part of election being held amidst the surge in coronavirus circumstances throughout the nation. The campaigning for the seventh part ended 72 hours earlier than the polling on April 26.

A complete of 86,78,221 voters — 44,44,634 male and 42,33,358 ladies and 229 from the third gender are eligible to train their franchise within the 34 constituencies unfold throughout Malda (Half I), Kolkata Dakshin, Murshidabad (Half I), Paschim Bardhaman (Half 1) and Dakshin Dinajpur districts. Polling might be held between 7 am to six.30 pm as in different phases at 12,068 polling stations in 9 meeting constituencies every in Murshidabad and Paschim Bardhaman districts, six every in Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda districts 4 in Kolkata Dakshin.

Polling for 2 meeting seats in Samserganj and Jangipur have been declared void following the deaths of two candidates there. The Election Fee has mounted Could 16 for the polling in these two seats.

The main focus on this part of polling might be on seats within the southern a part of town, primarily Bhabanipore which is the stronghold of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Whereas the fiery Banerjee has contested from Nandigram this time, she nominated one in every of her senior most get together leaders Sovandeb Chattopadhyay from Bhabanipore. BJP has fielded actor-turned-politician Rudranil Ghosh from the seat.

From Rashbehari the saffron get together has named Lt Gen (Dr) Subrata Saha towards TMC’s Debasish Kumar. The state minister and metropolis mayor Firhad Hakim will check his luck from Kolkata Port constituency the place he’ll lock horns with BJP’s Awadh Kishore Gupta and Congress’ Mohammed Mukhtar. Focus can even be on polling at Balurghat, Malda, Chanchal, Harishchandrapur in addition to in Lalgola, Murshidabad and Farakka seats.

Following the surge in COVID-19 circumstances throughout the nation, the EC has banned highway reveals and car rallies within the state with quick impact. It has famous that Covid security norms had been being flouted in West Bengal throughout campaigning. It additionally disallowed any public assembly with greater than 500 folks.

Banerjee, who can be the TMC supremo and her nephew Abhishek Banerjee, who’s the get together MP cancelled all their scheduled rallies and held them on the digital platform as did Prime Minister Narendra Modi on April 23. In the course of the bodily marketing campaign rallies rivals TMC and BJP hit out at one another.

The BJP leaders of their campaigns attacked Banerjee, her nephew Abhishek Banerjee alleging involvement of get together leaders within the Saradha and Narada tapes scams to the current allegations of siphoning of funds allotted for Amphan cyclone and the COVID-19 pandemic reduction. The BJP leaders maintained that corruption and anarchy are prevalent in West Bengal and that the get together will put an finish to it after coming to energy within the state.

Prime BJP leaders like Modi, Union House Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, get together president J P Nadda, Smriti Irani held a number of rallies and public conferences in several components of the meeting constituencies for this part of ballot.

Learn all of the Newest Information and Breaking Information right here